Diana Pharaoh Francis

/Tag:Diana Pharaoh Francis

2.0 Stars: Blood Winter

Blood Winter is the fourth and final book in the Horngate Witches series by Diana Pharaoh Francis. Unfortunately, it feels like it was not meant to be the final book—too many things are left open-ended and unresolved. This is disappointing since as a reader you're left wanting more and wondering why you read the previous three books. This book once again follows Max and Alexander, but instead of moving forward with the progress from book three, you take three steps backward. By this point in the series, the Max and Alexander [...]

By | May 26th, 2015|Book Reviews, Urban Fantasy|Comments Off on 2.0 Stars: Blood Winter

2.5 Stars: Shadow City

Shadow City is the third book in Diana Pharaoh Francis' Horngate Witches series. This book is a fairly large departure from the previous two books and takes you into a far more fantastical world than where we live. Unfortunately, Shadow City does not have the same feel or heart of the other books and marks the beginning of the end for the series. In this book, Max has accepted her agreement with Scooter and has left her world behind to help him out within the Shadow City. Meanwhile, Alexander is left behind at [...]

By | May 22nd, 2015|Book Reviews, Urban Fantasy|Comments Off on 2.5 Stars: Shadow City

3.5 Stars: Crimson Wind

Crimson Wind is the second book in Diana Pharaoh Francis' Horngate Witches series. It's a good continuation with the same breathless action, enjoyable characters, and tense plot line. Book two might not be quite as strong as the opening, but it's an enjoyable followup that keeps the story moving and leaves you ready for book three. The book picks up right where Bitter Night left off. Max and Alexander are dealing with the fallout of the battle at Horngate and the dangerous plan of the Guardians. Giselle is only one of two [...]

By | May 19th, 2015|Book Reviews, Urban Fantasy|Comments Off on 3.5 Stars: Crimson Wind

3.5 Stars: Bitter Night

Bitter Night is the first book in the Horngate Witches series by Diana Pharaoh Francis. It was first released in 2009 and I recently decided it was time for a reread. Let me start by saying that I am not caught up with the series. I stopped reading it after book three but I've decided to give it a shot again. So although I'm a little late on these reviews, I'll go through the series in order. Bitter Night is a very good debut. Diana has created an interesting world that isn't so [...]

By | May 15th, 2015|Book Reviews, Urban Fantasy|Comments Off on 3.5 Stars: Bitter Night